Minutes of AGM



Meeting Details

Date	4 November 2021	Commencement Time	3:00pm (ACDT)	Venue	Videoconference via Zoom
Chair	Mark Gobbie			Minutes	E Pietsch

Attendees: Board	Mark Gobbie, David Sheehan, Chris Saint, Ken Murphy, Rita Henderson, Anna Jackson, David
Roard Floot	Bergmann, Steven Porter
Board Elect	Deborah Evans, Helen Stratton, Stephen Gray
Member	Debolan Evans, neigh stratton, stephen dray
Representatives/Proxies	Paul Monis (AWQC & SA Water), William Buchanan (Barwon Water), Carsten Berberich (Central Highlands Water), Karen Gibb (CDU), Deon Pearce (Coliban Water), Cynthia Joll (Curtin Uni), James Gong (Deakin Uni), Nina Allen (DHHS SA), Shay Xie (Eurofins), Harriet Whiley (Flinders Uni), Anne Roiko (Griffith Uni), Ben Bryant (Icon Water), Melita Stevens (Melbourne Water), Joanne O'Toole (Monash Uni), Karla Billington (Naturallogic), Kate Griffiths (NMI), Katrina Wall (NSW Health), Michael Bartkow (Seqwater), Li Gao (South East Water), Enzo Palombo (Swinburne Uni), Shoshana Fogelman (Sydney Water), Luc Richard (TasWater), Justin Brookes (Uni Adelaide), Wenyan Wu (Uni Melbourne), Craig Evans (Uni of Newcastle), Greg Leslie (UNSW), Chris Chow (UniSA), Jane-Louise Lampard (USC), Darla Hatton-MacDonald (UTas), Siva Sivakumar (UoW), Anas Ghadouani (UWA), Mikel Duke (Victoria Uni), Joanne McBain (Wannon Water), Gabrielle O'Dwyer (Water Corporation), Fiona Smith (WaterNSW)
Guests	Karen Rouse (CEO), Michelle Pfitzner (Company Secretary), Brett Morkunas (Nexia Edwards Marshall), Mark Andersson (WaterRA), Carolyn Bellamy (WaterRA), Jacqueline Frizenschaf (WaterRA), Kelly Hill (WaterRA), Marlene Hsu (WaterRA), Kathryn Nicholas (WaterRA), Jo Ohlmeyer (WaterRA), Ella Pietsch (WaterRA), Renee Samwell (WaterRA), Joel Voortman (WaterRA), Arash Zamyadi (WaterRA), Adam Lovell (WSAA), Sandi Kolbe (WSAA), Jason Mingo (WSAA), Nicola Nelson (Sydney Water), Steve Capewell (Goulburn Valley Water), Yulia Shutova (Sydney Water), Andrew Ball (WaterNSW), Kaili Li (UQ), Dan Hoefel (SA Water), Dale Watson, Abby Farmer
Proxy forms and Apologies Received	Chris Wood (Central Gippsland Water), Peter Renehan (CfAT), Peter McCafferty (ChemCentre), David Beale (CSIRO), Tracy Ward (Dept Health NT), Cameron Dalgleish (Dept of Health Tas), Greg Jackson (Dept Health Qld), Mehdi Khiadani (ECU), Andrew Barton (Federation Uni), Regan Flanagan (Goulburn Valley Water), Abigail Morrow (Hunter Water), Maneeb Sunna (Lower Murray Water), Una Ryan (Murdoch Uni), Cheryl Lim (NMI), Elizabeth Gadd (Power & Water), Annette Davison (Risk Edge), Raj Parthasarathy (RMIT), Pierre Mukheibir (UTS), Jurg Keller (UQ), Nathanael Small (WSU), Asoka Jayaratne (Yarra Valley Water)
Absent	Jim Kelly (Arris), Annalisa Contos (Atom Consulting), Adam Schmalz (Cairns Regional Council), Suzie Sarkis (DHHS Vic), Keith Baldry (EPA SA), Mike Chapman (GHD), Matthew David (GrapheneX), Jessica Saigar (Greater Western Water), Matthew Hardy (HARC), Chris O'Neill (HydroNumerics), James Howey (Viridis), Dan Deer (Water Futures)

Meeting commenced at 3:00pm

M Gobbie welcomed the members and guests to the WaterRA Member's meeting, acknowledged the traditional owners and custodians of Australia and paid respect to their Elders past, present and emerging.

The formal business of the Member's meeting commenced at 3:05pm

1. WELCOME

1.1. Opening of AGM

The Chair opened the AGM.

Minutes of AGM



2. GENERAL BUSINESS

2.1. Confirmation of Quorum

The Chair confirmed that the meeting had quorum. (80%)

2.2. Approval of Member's Meeting Minutes

The Members were asked to vote on approval of the minutes of the Members' Meeting held via videoconference, 22 June 2021. Together with proxy votes already received, this resulted in 60% approval.

It was noted that 15 Members abstained from voting on this item.

RESOLVED:

THAT the Members APPROVE the Minutes of the Members' Meeting held on 22 June 2021.

CARRIED

2.3. Business arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

3. CHAIR UPDATE

The Chair presented an update on the strategy and governance of WaterRA during the last twelve months. The Chair acknowledged A Dysart, R Henderson, D Sheehan and C Saint for their service as a Non-executive Directors.

The Chair advised the membership of the Utility and University Director appointments resulting from the Director Election process in October 2021. D Evans (Water Corporation), H Stratton (Griffith University), S Gray (Victoria University) and S Porter (Power & Water) became new Directors.

4. AUWIRPA

K Rouse announced the launch of the new Australian Urban Water Industry Research Priorities Agenda; a joint venture with Water Services Association of Australia (WSAA). A Lovell (WSAA) gave an overview of the project which would facilitate collaborative research and development across the water industry.

5. GENERAL BUSINESS

5.1. Corporate Financial Report

The Chair of the RAAC Committee presented for consideration the Director's Report, Financial Statements and the Auditor's Report for the year ending 30 June 2021. The RAAC Chair also provided an update on the re-investment of recent surpluses back into WaterRA to provide greater benefit to members.

6. ORDINARY BUSINESS

M Gobbie and K Murphy left the meeting for agenda items 6.1 - 6.2

6.1. Independent Director Remuneration

The Company Secretary requested the Members to vote on the proposed Independent Director remuneration. Together with proxy votes already received, this resulted in 78% approval.

RESOLVED:

THAT the Independent Director on the WaterRA Board be entitled to a Directors fee of \$13,000 payable for the financial year 2021-2022.

CARRIED

6.2. Independent Chair Remuneration

The Company Secretary requested the Members to vote on the proposed Incoming Independent Chair remuneration. Together with proxy votes already received, this resulted in 77% approval.

Collaborate Innovate Innovate

Minutes of AGM



RESOLVED:

THAT the incoming Chairperson on the WaterRA Board be entitled to a Directors fee of \$40,000 payable for the financial year 2021-2022.

CARRIED

7. PRESENTATION OF THE NANCY MILLIS MEMORIAL PhD AWARD

Kaili Li was presented with the Nancy Millis Award for her PhD research into adaptive management of existing sewage treatment plant to reduce fugitive emission carbon footprint.

8. COMPANY UPDATE

K Rouse presented an update on the company operations during the last twelve months.

9. CLOSE

The Chair thanked Members for attending and closed the meeting.

The meeting closed at 3:48pm ACDT

Next Meeting:

June 2022 (TBC)